Join the Olympic Club

An all-access community uniting and rewarding Team Canada fans – it’s free. Gain points, rewards and get email updates from your Canadian Olympic Team.

Olympic and Paralympic athletes to receive Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal

TORONTO – The Canadian Olympic Committee and Canadian Paralympic Committee are proud to announce that London 2012 Olympians and Paralympians will be receiving the prestigious Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal in Toronto. Presenting the award is Minister of State (Sport), The Honourable Bal Gosal. In addition, the CPC will be presenting additional Diamond Jubilee medals to 8 individuals who have helped grow the Paralympic movement in Canada. The ceremony will be held at the Royal Ontario Museum on Friday, December 21, 2012.  Media are invited to attend for photo and interview availabilities.

WHO:  Honourable Bal Gosal, Minister of State (Sport)
Christopher Overholt, CEO & Secretary General, Canadian Olympic Committee
François Robert, Executive Director, Partnerships, Canadian Paralympic Committee
Bernard Trottier, Member of Parliament, Etobicoke-Lakeshore

London 2012 Olympians
Diana Matheson, Soccer (Bronze)
Natalie Mastracci, Rowing (Silver)
Janine Hanson, Rowing (Silver)
Derek Drouin, Athletics (Bronze)
Jason Burnett, Trampoline (Silver, 2008)
Nikkita Holder, Athletics
Reid Coolsaet, Athletics
Shona Thorburn, Basketball
Brittany MacLean, Swimming
Jessica Phoenix, Equestrian
Joseph Veloce, Cycling
Joe Bartoch, Swimming
Aaron Brown, Athletics
Sultana Frizell, Athletics
Jacqueline Brooks, Equestrian
Blake Worsley, Swimming
Stephanie Horner, Swimming

London 2012 Paralympians
Rachael Burrows, Athletics
Joel Dembe, Wheelchair Tennis
Leah Robinson, Athletics
Josh Cassidy, Athletics
Tracey Ferguson, Wheelchair Basketball
Tamara Steeves, Wheelchair Basketball
David Blair, Rowing

Paralympic Builders
Jerry Tonello, Coach, Wheelchair Basketball
Steven Keith, Builder
Alex Cranfield-Sinclair, Builder, Swimming
Reg Chappell, Coach, Swimming
Nancy Quinn, Builder
Debbie DeCaire, Builder, Rowing
Dean Mellway, Builder
Helen Manning, Builder, Athletics
Ken Hall, Coach, Athletics

WHEN:  December 21, 2012, 12:00 PM

WHERE:  Royal Ontario Museum
RBC Glass Room
100 Queens Park
Toronto, ON M5S 2C6

– 30 –

Canadian Olympic Committee Media Office:
Jane Almeida, Manager, Media Relations
Tel: 416-324-4120 / Cell. : 416-540-1788

Dimitri Soudas, Executive Director, Communications
Tel. : 416-324-4136/ Cell. : 289-388-6419

Canadian Paralympic Committee Media Office:
Alison Korn, Manager, Media Relations
Phone: 613-569-4333, ext # 243 / Cell: 613-298-4927

Martin Richard, Executive Director, Communications & Marketing
Phone: 613-569-4333, ext # 2224 / Cell: 613-725-4339
Email :

Olympic Club

Contact Us

Yvon Long
Senior Manager, Media Relations
Tel: 514-861-5180 / Cell: 514-206-6720

Upcoming Games

PyeongChang 2018

Top Team Canada Fans

Al Redpath

Current Level


  • Total: 119895 points
  • Earned this week: 1325 points

Kerri McGregor

Current Level


  • Total: 99064 points
  • Earned this week: 1985 points

Ivy Tennis

Current Level


  • Total: 85550 points
  • Earned this week: 1805 points

Clay Naslund

Current Level


  • Total: 73349 points
  • Earned this week: 2370 points

Adam Kohn

Current Level


  • Total: 48448 points
  • Earned this week: 645 points

Michelle Chow

Current Level


  • Total: 37841 points
  • Earned this week: 1230 points

Ian Duff

Current Level


  • Total: 27125 points
  • Earned this week: 325 points

Benn Wood

Current Level


  • Total: 24965 points

Website by | Programmed by Trew Knowledge | Powered by VIP


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,657 other followers