Canadian men’s volleyball team nominated for Rio 2016

12 athletes chosen to represent Canada

Friday, July 22, 2016 — GATINEAU — On Friday, the Canadian Olympic Committee (COC) and Volleyball Canada officially announced the team of 12 athletes nominated to represent Team Canada in men’s volleyball at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games from August 5 to 21.The 12 athletes selected are: Blair Bann, Jay Blankenau, Justin Duff, Nick Hoag, Daniel Jansen VanDoorn, Steve Marshall, Gord Perrin, TJ Sanders, Gavin Schmitt, Rudy Verhoeff, Graham Vigrass and Frederic Winters.Download hi-res team photosThe men’s team earned its ticket to Rio 2016 at the World Olympic Qualification Tournament in Tokyo, Japan, last month. It is the first time in 24 years that Canada will have a men’s team competing in indoor volleyball at the Olympic Games.

At Rio 2016 the Canadian men’s team is in a pool with top-ranked teams including Brazil, Italy, France, the United States and Mexico. The preliminary round will take place August 7 to 15. The quarterfinals begin on August 17 with the medal matches on August 21. Team Canada expects to field a team of approximately 314 athletes.

Volleyball Canada is the National Sport Federation for indoor, beach and sitting volleyball.


“I am absolutely thrilled to have 12 of Canada’s most talented volleyball players make the team. I cannot wait for them to hit the courts and show the rest of the world all of the hard work and sacrifice the athletes, coaches and support staff have put in to get to this point today. We wish you good luck and will be seeing you at the Rio Olympic Games very soon.”

Curt Harnett, Rio 2016 Team Canada Chef de Mission


“This team has risen to the challenge of qualifying the first men’s team since 1992, and they are determined to fight on the court in Rio against the toughest teams in the world. Congratulations to the athletes named and thanks to all the athletes that have been part of this amazing journey over the last decade or so.  We’ll all be watching the men’s team compete in Rio next month with great excitement.”

Debra Armstrong, Chair, Board of Directors of Volleyball Canada


“I’m honoured to be named to the Olympic team. The whole team has worked very hard to get to Rio 2016, and it was thrilling to qualify in the last chance tournament in Japan early in June.  Our goal is to make the country proud of our performance at the Games.”

Gavin Schmitt, Rio 2016 athlete


“The road to Rio for our Canadian men’s national indoor volleyball team has had many twists and turns, but the players never gave up. I’m so proud of every single member, because they worked hard and committed both as individuals and as a team to securing their ticket to the Games. Volleyball Canada has done an outstanding job of preparing our athletes for this journey, which isn’t over yet. On behalf of all Canadians—35 million strong—I wish Team Canada all the very best in Rio.”

The Honourable Carla Qualtrough, Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities

The men’s volleyball team that will represent Canada at Rio 2016 includes:


First Last Hometown
Blair Bann Edmonton, AB
Jay Blankenau Sherwood Park, AB
Justin Duff Winnipeg, MB
Nick Hoag Sherbrooke, QC
Daniel Jansen VanDoorn Langley, BC
Steve Marshall Abbotsford, BC
Gord Perrin Creston, BC
TJ Sanders London, ON
Gavin Schmitt Saskatoon, SK
Rudy Verhoeff Calgary, AB
Graham Vigrass Calgary, AB
Frederic Winters Victoria, BC

Coaches and staff:

Position First Last Hometown
Team Leader Julien Boucher Quebec City, QC
Team Coordinator Frank Boyer Hawkesbury, ON
Statistician Murat Haktanir Izmir, Turkey
Therapist Jean-Sébastien Hartnell Ottawa, ON
Head Coach Glenn Hoag La Tuque, QC
Assistant Coach Lawrence McKay Winnipeg, MB
Mental Performance Consultant Kyle Paquette Espanola, ON
Assistant Coach Vincent Pichette Gatineau, QC
Therapist Mathieu Seguin Hawkesbury, ON

Prior to being named to the final Canadian Rio 2016 Team, all nominations are subject to approval by the Canadian Olympic Committee’s Team Selection Committee following its receipt of nominations by all National Sport Federations.

Follow us on Twitter