COC AC welcomes two new members to Athletes’ Commission

TORONTO (December 8, 2023) – The Canadian Olympic Committee Athletes’ Commission (COC AC) is pleased to welcome two new appointed members who will join 12 other Olympians on the volunteer commission.

  • Cynthia Appiah (Bobsleigh)
  • Rachel Nicol (Swimming)

Appiah and Nicol have been appointed for a one-year term, renewable for up to four years. Joseph Polossifakis (Fencing) was re-appointed for this third one-year term.

“I’m extremely excited to be appointed to the COC Athletes’ Commission. The COC AC has done such amazing work in championing the voices of Canada’s Olympians and I am more than honoured to now be a part of this team,” said Appiah. “The Commission’s vision and values mirror closely to the work that I have done so far in the athlete advocacy world and I look forward to doing my part in continuing to amplify the voice of Canadian Olympians with the COC AC.”

The COC Athletes’ Commission represents athletes on the COC Board of Directors. The COC AC’s priorities for 2024 include athlete connection, sport system and culture, partnerships and financial opportunity, sustainability and Games planning. The members also present and advocate for Canadian Olympic athletes’ perspectives at the COC, and work closely with their elected athlete representative peers at the Canadian Paralympic Committee and AthletesCAN to be strong advocates for athletes and the athlete voice within the Canadian sport system.

“I am very honoured and excited to be a part of such an incredible group of people,” added Nicol. “I have a strong passion for the athlete voice and am looking forward to being involved in this capacity. I will strive to do my absolute best to listen, learn and lend my voice.”

Appiah and Nicol will join the existing members of the COC AC:

  • Rosie MacLennan (Gymnastics – trampoline) – Chair
  • Inaki Gomez (Athletics) – Vice-Chair
  • Philippe Marquis (Freestyle Skiing) – First Officer
  • Jacqueline Simoneau (Artistic Swimming) – Member
  • Joseph Polossifakis (Fencing) – Member
  • Martha McCabe (Swimming) – Member
  • Maxwell Lattimer (Rowing) – Member
  • Mercedes Nicoll (Snowboard) – Member
  • Phil Brown (Alpine Skiing) – Member
  • Quinn (Soccer) – Member
  • Seyi Smith (Athletics, Bobsleigh) – IOC AC Rep – ExOfficio
  • Melissa Humana-Paredes (Beach Volleyball) – Pan Am Sports Rep – ExOfficio

During the COC AC’s annual fall retreat in October, MacLennan was re-elected for the position of Chair, while Marquis retained his role as First Officer. 

“Being a part of the COC AC has been an incredibly rewarding experience, and I am really grateful to have been elected to continue as Chair through Paris 2024,” said MacLennan. “It is an incredible group of athletes who are motivated to improve the sport system and the sport experience for athletes across the country.”

MacLennan, Gomez, and McCabe will complete their terms on the COC AC following the next election which takes place after the Paris 2024 Olympic Games.

The COC AC thanks outgoing members Lucas Makowsky (Speed Skating – Long Track) and Kim Boutin (Speed Skating – Short Track) for their contributions. 

– 30 –


Philippe Marquis
First Officer, Canadian Olympic Committee Athletes’ Commission
C: 418-932-8289

Tara MacBournie
Program Manager, Sport Communications, Canadian Olympic Committee
C: 647-522-8328

Follow us on Twitter