The Canadian Olympic Committee Supports Appointment of Toronto 2015 Board of Directors

The Canadian Olympic Committee (COC) is pleased to be part of today’s selection of the Board of Directors for the Toronto 2015 Pan/Parapan American Games Host Organizing Committee – and is eager to work with all partners as logistical preparations begin for the Games fewer than six years away.

The 12-member Board, chaired by Roger Garland, comprises the COC’s own Michael Chambers, Marcel Aubut, Chris Rudge and Victoria Winter, as well as Sylvie Bernier, Martha Billes, David Braley, Tony Gagliano, Sandra Levy, Carla Qualtrough and Andrew Wright. For the Board of Directors selection, the COC worked closely with its 2015 partners, the federal government, the province of Ontario, the Canadian Paralympic Committee and the City of Toronto.

“We are very pleased with the selections made to the Board, which will be critical in the lead-up to the most important sport event ever held in Ontario,” said COC President Michael Chambers, HostCo board member and a vice-president of the Pan American Sport Organization. “The partners’ ability to quickly establish a strong Board, will benefit these Games and the legacy they will leave in our communities.”

One of the Board’s first missions will be selecting a chief executive officer and a management team that will guide plans toward 2015. The COC looks forward to working with its partners as the integral tasks of preparation and organization of the 2015 Pan/Parapan American Games get underway.

The Pan Am Games are a major international multi-sport event, held every four years for athletes of the 42 PASO member nations. Hosting the 2015 Games will bring Southern Ontario valuable new sport facilities, improvements to existing structures, tourism, jobs, housing units, inspiration for youth, and represent a major step forward for summer sport development in Canada.