Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame Welcomes Five New Inductees

Gala Event Honours Elvis Stojko, David MacEachern, Curtis Myden, Melody Davidson and Marc Lemay

This evening, at the prestigious 2011 Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame Gala Dinner & Induction Ceremony presented by Procter & Gamble (P&G), five Olympic legends were front and centre in an event that celebrates the strength of the Olympic Movement in Canada and the power of sport to unite the nation.

Permanently inscribing their amazing stories in Canadian Olympic lore, Elvis Stojko, David MacEachern, Curtis Myden, Marc Lemay and Melody Davidson were honoured with an induction in the Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame, whose membership now sits at 411.

“The COC is so proud to honour such a memorable group of inductees who have contributed so much to Canadian sport over the past two decades,” said Marcel Aubut, COC President. “The way we have been embraced in Moncton and across Atlantic Canada has proven without a doubt the lasting hold of the Olympic Movement and the spirit that flows strong from Vancouver toward London next year.”

“To be part of this prestigious group is difficult to put into words,” said Stojko. “It’s an honour to be inducted and really caps off my career. To have the president of the COC call me personally was very special and brings back warm memories for me. Thanks to all the fans who have been so amazing over the years.”

In an event that has captured the passion of all Atlantic provinces – as evidenced by the week of popular community events and the nation’s first-ever “Olympic and Paralympic Heroes Tour” – the following inductees were honoured before 1,000 Gala guests at Casino New Brunswick:

Melody Davidson was head coach of both the 2010 and 2006 Olympic gold medal women’s hockey teams in Vancouver and Turin. Davidson was assistant coach in 2002 when the team won its first-ever Olympic gold medal. She has been head or assistant coach for four World Championship teams, and two world silver medal squads. She is the only person ever to be named five straight years to the Canadian Association for the Advancement of Women and Sport and Physical Activity’s “Most Influential Women” list. Davidson is globally admired for her dedication to the women’s game, her core belief in values and her leadership.

Marc Lemay is a world leader in the sport of cycling. Lemay was president of the Canadian Cycling Association from 1981 to 1992 and president of the Union Cycliste Internationale Mountain Bike Commission from 1990 to 2001. He served 14 years as COC Board member, from 1982 to 1996. In 2001 he received the Union Cycliste Internationale Merit for his contribution to the development of international cycling. Under his UCI tenure, the sport of mountain biking experienced tremendous growth that culminated with a berth in the Olympic program.

David MacEachern competed in two-man and four-man bobsleigh at the 1992, 1994 and 1998 Olympic Winter Games. In his last Games, he and Pierre Lueders won Olympic gold in the two-man event, which significantly raised the profile of bobsleigh, as well as funding, in Canada. A silver medallist in two-man at the 1996 World Championships, MacEachern also collected 28 World Cup medals and five World Cup titles in his career. His success in the 1990s inspired entire groups of new athletes and set the stage for the medals won at Vancouver 2010.

Curtis Myden was the first Canadian swimmer to win medals at consecutive Olympic Games. He is a three-time Olympian in 1992, 1996 and 2000, and a triple bronze medallist. Myden won two bronze medals at the Atlanta 1996 Olympic Games in the 200- and 400-metre individual medley. Four years later amid an ever-stronger pool of swimmers, he again took bronze in the 400-metre individual medley. Leading up to Sydney he swept all the individual medley gold medals while adding two silver medals at the Pan Pacific Championships. He is a 30-time Canadian champion.

Elvis Stojko is a two-time Olympic silver medallist and three-time world champion in figure skating. As Olympic and world champion in 1994, he was named Canadian Athlete of the Year. He is the first man ever to land consecutive quadruple jumps in competition, once in 1991 and again in 1997. The four-time Olympian and seven-time Canadian champion was inducted into Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame in 2006. Deeply involved in charitable work, Stojko was known during his athletic career for his amazing perseverance through injury.

The Gala evening included a full artistic program featuring legendary Canadian musician Jann Arden, the Juno Award-winning Arkells, Maritime fiddler and folk star Sam Robichaud, award-winning pianist and composer Stephan Moccio, and sultry singer-songwriter Marie-Christine.

Hosted by TSN’s James Cybulski and Michèle Brideau of Radio-Canada the event was attended, among others, by New Brunswick Premier David Alward and more than 60 Olympians from across Canada.