Hockey Canada Invites 46 Players to National Orientation Camp

Entire 2010 Olympic Team Likely to Be Selected From Roster

In Calgary next month, 46 of Canada’s top men’s hockey players will converge on the national summer orientation camp. All Olympic hockey players in 2002 and 2006 were part of this same camp, and the expectations for 2010 are similar. The list of 46, announced today, will be the central source of the 23 players who will take to the ice for Olympic gold next February.

The camp, with executive director Steve Yzerman and newly-named head coach Mike Babcock overseeing the invitees – features 25 forwards, 16 defencemen and five goaltenders. It will run Aug. 24 to 27 and will be sure to create a lot of buzz for the Olympic Winter Games, which will be just a half-year away.

The roster is made predominantly of younger players who have not competed at the Olympic level, but who have had tremendous recent success in the National Hockey League and other international competitions. These include, but are far from limited to, Sidney Crosby, three Staal brothers (Eric, Marc, Jordan), Dion Phaneuf and Jeff Carter.

Hockey Canada has invited 16 Olympians to camp. The list includes three-time Olympic hockey players Martin Brodeur, Chris Pronger and Joe Sakic (1998, 2002, 2006) and two-time Olympians Simon Gagné, Jarome Iginla and Ryan Smyth (2002, 2006).

Here is the full 2009 orientation camp roster:

*Martin Brodeur – Montreal
Marc-André Fleury – Sorel, Que.
*Roberto Luongo – Montreal
Steve Mason – Oakville, Ont.
Cam Ward – Sherwood Park, Alta.

François Beauchemin – Sorel, Que.
*Jay Bouwmeester – Edmonton
Dan Boyle – Ottawa
Brent Burns – Ajax, Ont.
Drew Doughty – London, Ont.
Mike Green – Calgary
Dan Hamhuis – Smithers, B.C.
Duncan Keith – Penticton, B.C.
*Scott Niedermayer – Cranbrook, B.C.
Dion Phaneuf – Edmonton
*Chris Pronger – Dryden, Ont.
*Robyn Regehr – Rosthern, Sask.
Stéphane Robidas – Sherbrooke, Que.
Brent Seabrook – Tsawwassen, B.C.
Marc Staal – Thunder Bay, Ont.
Shea Weber – Sicamous, B.C.

Jeff Carter – London, Ont.
Dan Cleary – Carbonear, Nfld.
Sidney Crosby – Cole Harbour, N.S.
*Shane Doan – Halkirk, Alta.
*Simon Gagné – Ste-Foy, Que.
Ryan Getzlaf – Regina
*Dany Heatley – Calgary
*Jarome Iginla – St. Albert, Alta.
*Vincent Lecavalier – Ile-Bizard, Que.
Milan Lucic – Vancouver
Patrick Marleau – Aneroid, Sask.
Andy McDonald – Strathroy, Ont.
Brenden Morrow – Carlyle, Sask.
*Rick Nash – Brampton, Ont.
Corey Perry – Peterborough, Ont.
Michael Richards – Kenora, Ont.
Derek Roy – Rockland, Ont.
*Joe Sakic – Burnaby, B.C.
Patrick Sharp – Thunder Bay, Ont.
*Ryan Smyth – Banff, Alta.
*Martin St. Louis – Laval, Que.
Eric Staal – Thunder Bay, Ont.
Jordan Staal – Thunder Bay, Ont.
*Joe Thornton – St. Thomas, Ont.
Jonathan Toews – Winnipeg

* Olympians