Canadian Olympic Team Official Website

Nesbitt, Morrison lead 17 long track speed skaters to Sochi

Nesbitt, Morrison lead 17 long track speed skaters to Sochi

By Asif Hossain

Another 17 athletes – nine women, eight men – were added to the Canadian Olympic Team on Wednesday, when the long track speed skating selection was made official.

The nine women nominated to Team Canada are Ivanie Blondin, Anastasia Bucsis, Kali Christ, Marsha Hudey, Kaylin Irvine, Christine Nesbitt, Brittany Schussler, Brianne Tutt and Danielle Wotherspoon-Gregg.

Nesbitt is the reigning 1000 metres Olympic champion, having won gold at Vancouver 2010. She also has a silver medal in the Team Pursuit from Turin.

Christine Nesbitt after winning gold in Vancouver 2010 (CP).

Christine Nesbitt after winning gold in Vancouver 2010 (CP).

Since the last Olympic Winter Games, Nesbitt won gold medals in the 1000 m and 1500 m distances at the 2012 World Single Distances Championships. At the same competition in Sochi a year later, Nesbitt took the bronze medal in the 1500 m.

Nesbitt blazes to World bronze

The eight male speed skaters for Sochi are Vincent De Haître, William Dutton, Mathieu Giroux, Jamie Gregg, Gilmore Junio, Lucas Makowsky, Denny Morrison and Muncef Ouardi.

Giroux, Makowsky and Morrison won Olympic gold in Vancouver in the Team Pursuit, edging the United States in the final.

Post-Vancouver, Morrison was the 2012 World Champion in 1500 m.

Enhanced by Zemanta

By Asif Hossain

Canadian Olympic ID

Feature Poll

TO2015 Pan Am VenuesSee All

Venue Guide: Basketball invades Ryerson Athletic Centre

Upcoming GamesSee All

2015 Toronto

2015 Toronto

Toronto was awarded the 2015 Pan American Games on November 6, 2009, defeating bids from Lima, Peru and Bogota, Colombia….


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 867 other followers

Get your free Olympic I.D.

Get your Olympic I.D. for early access to exclusive content, contests and email updates from your Canadian Olympic Team.