Olympians collect Canadian Sport Awards

CALGARY – The 40th Canadian Sport Awards handed out its annual hardware on Wednesday night during the President’s Reception at Canada’s Sport Hall of Fame in Calgary, Alberta. After a successful 2012 London  Games, several summer Olympians were front and centre among the winners. In total, five London medallists were among the six potential nominees for the male and female athlete of the year awards.

The Male Athlete of the Year Award went to Canoe-Kayak legend Adam van Koeverden who sprinted his way to a silver medal in the K-1 1000m in London. With the silver, the four-time medallist became the most decorated paddler in the country’s history.

Trampolinist Rosie MacLennan was named the Female Athlete of the Year. With her amazing performance in London, MacLennan captured Canada’s first-ever gold medal in trampoline and her nation’s only top-of-the-podium finish at the 2012 Games.

The award for 2012 Team of the Year went to the Women’s Soccer Team that won bronze in a 1-0 victory over France in dramatic fashion after a 92nd minute goal by Canadian midfielder Diana Matheson. The Canadian women entered the tournament ranked seventh in the world and captured the imagination of the country with its gutsy and inspiring play that led them to Canada’s first Olympic podium finish in Soccer.

Not to be outdone, the Men’s Eight Rowing Team pulled out an impressive effort in London to finish second in the competition and were awarded with the Partners of the Year Award. The Canadian men battled back from a last-place finish in their first heat to qualify for the final and win a silver medal.

And finally, rising Canadian tennis star Filip Peliwo was recognized as Junior Athlete of the Year. The Vancouver native had a breakout 2012 season that saw him win the boys’ junior title at Wimbledon and the U.S. Open. The 18-year-old finished the season ranked first in the world.

2012 Canadian Sport Awards Finalists
Male Athlete of the Year:
1.Ryan Cochrane, Swimming, Victoria, BC
2.Brent Hayden, Swimming, Mission, BC
3.Adam van Koeverden, Kayak, Oakville, ON

Female Athlete of the Year:
1.Rosannagh MacLennan, Trampoline, King City, ON
2.Christine Nesbitt, Speedskating, London, ON
3.Tonya Verbeek, Wrestling, St. Catharines, ON

Junior Athlete of the Year:
1.Filip Peliwo, Tennis, Vancouver, BC
2.Alexandra Pretorius, Ski Jump, Calgary, AB
3.Dorothy Yeats, Wrestling, Montreal, QC

Team of the Year:
1.Basketball – Wheelchair Open Paralympic Team
2.Rugby – Wheelchair Men’s Paralympics Team
3.Soccer – Women’s Olympic Team

Partners of the Year:
1.Figure Skating – Ice Dancing: Tessa Virtue/Scott Moir (World Championship)
2.Rowing – Men’s Eight Olympic Team
3.Rowing – Women’s Eight Olympic Team