Athletics crew ready to roll

CALGARY– Athletics Canada announced today the athletes who have been put forth to the Canadian Olympic Committee for nomination to the 2012 Canadian Olympic Team.

Alex Gardiner, Athletics Olympic Games head coach said, “This is the largest Olympic team Athletics Canada has selected in recent history. The Trials in Calgary proved to be the crucible we wanted to test our readiness for London. Competition was fierce and results have strengthened our confidence that we can have four or five athletes challenge for the podium and another half dozen achieve a top 8 or finalist position.”

Gardiner adds, “Our professional approach to athlete preparation supported by our major partner Own the Podium is proving out. We have a world class team of coaches, scientists and medical experts keeping the team healthy and focused.”

“These athletes have earned their spots on the 2012 Canadian Olympic Team,” said 2012 Canadian Olympic Team Chef de Mission Mark Tewksbury. “This group will make Canadians proud in London this summer.”

“Congratulations to all the 2012 Canadian Olympic Team nominees,” said Canadian Olympic Committee President Marcel Aubut. “Your hard work and commitment to excellence has paid off. I look forward to watching you competeand cheering you on in Londonin just a few weeks.”

2012 Canadian Olympic Team Athletics nominees

Mohammed Ahmed: 10,000m
Dylan Armstrong: Shot put
Melissa Bishop: 800m
Mélanie Blouin: Pole Vault
Nathan Brannen: 1,500m
Jared Connaughton: 200m
Reid Coolsaet: Marathon
Derek Drouin: High jump
Crystal Emmanuel: 200m
Sultana Frizell: Hammer Throw
Alex Genest: 3,000m steeplechase
Phylicia George: 100m / 100m hurdles
Eric Gillis: Marathon
Elizabeth Gleadle: Javelin
Inaki Gomez: 20km Race Walk
Geoff Harris: 800m
Akeem Haynes: 4x100m
Nikkita Holder: 100m hurdles
Julie Labonté: Shot Put
Cameron Levins: 5,000m
Segun Makinde: 4x100m
Jenna Martin: 400m
Michael Mason: High Jump
Curtis Moss: Javelin
Justin Rodhe: Shot Put
Rachel Seaman: 20km Race Walk
Nicole Sifuentes: 1,500m
Gavin Smellie: 4x100m
Jessica Smith: 800m
Oluseyi Smith: 4x100m
Heather Steacy: Hammer Throw
Jim Steacy: Hammer throw
Hilary Stellingwerff: 1,500m
Brianne Theisen: Heptathlon
Damian Warner: Decathlon
Ian Warner: 4x100m
Justyn Warner: 100m / 4x100m
Sarah Wells: 400m hurdles
Dylan Wykes: Marathon
Jessica Zelinka: Heptathlon / 100m hurdles