Bobsleigh at PyeongChang 2018

Venues: Olympic Sliding Centre

Competition Dates: February 18-21, 24-25 (Days 9-12, 15-16)

Events: 3 (1 men, 1 women, 1 mixed)

Bobsleds are built to hold two or four athletes. Beginning with a running start, teams push their sleds approximately 50 metres before jumping in and speeding more than 1000 metres down an ice track.

Men and women compete in separate two-man events, in which each sled includes a pilot and a brakeman. Beginning with the 2014-15 season, the four-man event, which had been exclusively male, was opened to be able to include female athletes.

Chris Spring and Lascelles Brown compete in world cup two-man bobsleigh in Whistler on Dec. 2, 2016. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Darryl Dyck

All three events consist of four heats held over two days. The teams with the lowest cumulative times, measured to the hundredth of a second (0.01), are the winners.

A four-man sled has a maximum length of 3.8m with a total maximum weight (including athletes and equipment) of 630kg. Both two-man sleds have a maximum length of 2.7m. Men’s sleds can have a total maximum weight of 390kg while the women’s sleds can have a maximum total weight of 325kg.

Bobsleigh - Men's

Canadian History (pre-PyeongChang 2018)

Canada had its most successful Olympic bobsleigh performance at Vancouver 2010, winning three medals, highlighted by the gold and silver in the women’s two-man by Kaillie Humphries (with Heather Moyse) and Helen Upperton (with Shelley-Ann Brown). Lyndon Rush also piloted his four-man sled (with Chris Le Bihan, David Bissett and Lascelles Brown) to bronze.

Kaillie Humphries and Melissa Lotholz from Canada speed down the course during the women' two-man bobsled World Cup in St. Moritz, Switzerland, Saturday, Jan. 21, 2017. (Urs Flueeler/Keystone via AP)

Humphries and Moyse successfully defended their gold medal at Sochi 2014. That came 50 years after Canada’s first Olympic bobsleigh gold was won by the four-man crew of Vic Emery, Doug Anakin, Peter Kirby and John Emery at Innsbruck 1964. Canada’s only other gold medal was won by Pierre Lueders and Dave MacEachern when they tied for first place in the two-man event at Nagano 1998. Lueders also won two-man silver with Brown at Turin 2006.