Each day olympic.ca will be posting a preview of that day’s events. Here is what’s happening the evening of February 8 and on February 9, Days -1 and 0, respectively, of PyeongChang 2018.

Curling

Team Canada Mixed Doubles Draw 1 vs NOR

Team Canada’s mixed double curling athletes Kaitlyn Lawes and John Morris compete against Norway in round robin action at the Gangneung Curling Centre, Gangneung, South Korea. Photo/David Jackson

The mixed doubles team action continues Thursday evening with a double header. Kaitlyn Lawes and John Morris will be looking to repeat their performance from earlier, when they won Team Canada’s first Olympic mixed doubles outing with a 6-4 win over the United States.

RELATED: Lawes & Morris earn Team Canada’s first Olympic mixed doubles victory

Lawes and Morris will be playing at 6:35 p.m. EST (3:35 p.m. PST) against China, and at 11:35 p.m. EST (8:35 p.m. PST) against Finland. After those two matches, they will return to action Friday evening, with a game against Switzerland at 7:05 p.m. EST (4:05 p.m. PST).

Figure skating

Team Canada Eric Radford Meagan Duhamel PyeongChang 2018

Meagan Duhamel and Eric Radford train during figure skating practice ahead of the PyeongChang 2018 Winter Olympic Games at Gangneung Ice Arena on February 8, 2018 in Pyeongchang-gun, South Korea. (Photo by Vincent Ethier/COC)

The mixed team in figure skating will perform their first two events Thursday night. Patrick Chan will be performing in the Men Short Program at 8 p.m. EST (5 p.m. PST), and Meagan Duhamel and Eric Radford will be performing at 9:45 p.m. EST (6:45 p.m. PST). Duhamel, Radford, and Chan are all part of the Mixed Team silver medallists from Sochi 2014. Chan won an additional silver in Sochi in the men’s event.

Freestyle skiing

Justine Dufour-Lapointe, right, and her sister Chloe Dufour-Lapointe finish one-two in the Ladies’ Moguls at the 2014 Sochi Winter Olympics in Krasnaya Polyna, Russia, Saturday, Feb. 8, 2014.
THE CANADIAN PRESS/HO, COC – Jason Ransom

Thursday evening, both the women’s and men’s Moguls qualification rounds will begin.

The women start us off at 8 p.m. EST (5 p.m. PST). Andi Naude will be making her Olympic debut, whereas Audrey Robichaud and sisters Chloé Dufour-Lapointe are returning for their third Games. The latter won a silver at Sochi 2014 behind sister Justine Dufour-Lapointe, who is returning for her second Games. 

The men follow the women at 9:45 p.m. EST (6:45 p.m. PST). Marc-Antoine Gagnon, Mikaël Kingsbury, and Philippe Marquis are back for their second Olympic Winter Games. In January 2018, Kingsbury became the record-holder for career World Cup moguls victories, winning his 48th title.

Snowboard

Maxence Parrot flies through the air during a slopestyle snowboard training run at the Sochi Winter Olympics in Krasnaya Polyana, Russia, Tuesday, Feb. 4, 2014. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward

Snowboard kicks off its first event Friday evening at 8 p.m. EST (5 p.m. PST) with the qualification rounds for Men’s Slopestyle. Mark McMorris, Max Parrot, and Sébastien Toutant return for their second Games, while Tyler Nicholson is the lone rookie on the men’s squad. McMorris, who earned a bronze medal at Sochi 2014, is valiantly returning from a crash in March 2017, where he’d sustained multiple injuries.

Opening ceremony

Hayley Wickenheiser of Canada carries her country flag as they arrive during the opening ceremony of the 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi, Russia, Friday, Feb. 7, 2014. (AP Photo/Matt Dunham)

While not an athletic event, the opening ceremony is still pretty important! It will be televised live for viewers Friday morning at 6 a.m. EST (3 a.m. PST). If you’re not a morning bird, not to worry! The ceremony will be rebroadcast Friday evening at 9 p.m. EST (6 p.m. PST).

See the rest of the schedule for PyeongChang 2018 here.