Canadian Olympic Team Official Website

Skiing – Ski Jumping

Ski jumping was born in 1860 when Norwegian Sondre Norheim, the father of modern skiing, built the first measured jump and flew 30 metres without poles over a rock.  That record held for more than three decades.

In 1862 the first organized ski jumping competition was held in Trysil, Norway.  The world’s most famous ski jump is the Holmenkollen near Oslo which has hosted competitions since 1892 and is one of Norway’s most popular tourist attractions with more than one million visitors annually.

Ski jumping has been part of the Olympic Winter Games since the first edition in Chamonix in 1924.  Throughout the 20th century it was a male-dominated discipline.  It wasn’t until 2009 that women competed at the FIS Nordic World Ski Championships.  After a failed attempt by female ski jumpers to have their event included at Vancouver 2010, the IOC voted to add the ladies’ individual normal hill to the Olympic program for Sochi 2014.

Check out Canada’s Sochi 2014 Ski Jumping team

Ski jumping at the Olympic Games is contested on two different hills, designated as “normal” and “large” based on their hill size, which is the furthest distance that a jumper is able to safely travel.  Normal hills are between 85m and 109m (106m at Sochi 2014) and large hills are larger than 110m (140m at Sochi 2014).

Results are based on both the distance the jumper achieves as well as the jumper’s body position in the air and upon landing.  Each hill has a K-point based on its size (95m for normal hill; 125m for large hill).  A jump to the K-point is worth 60 points.  Each metre over or under the K-point is reflected by an increase or decrease in the points (+/- 2.0 for normal hill; +/- 1.8 for large hill).  Five judges evaluate each jump for style on a scale of 0 to 20.  The highest and lowest scores are dropped with the rest added together.  The distance and style points are then added together to get the total jump score.

Jumping technique has changed quite a bit since the sport’s early days.  The biggest advancement came in 1985 when Swede Jan Boklöv spread the tips of his skis into a “V” shape while putting his body into an extreme lean with his arms close to the body.  Initially laughed at and penalized by judges, he won the 1989 FIS World Cup title which prompted a move en masse by other jumpers to the V-style.  By 1992, all individual Olympic medal winners were using the V-style, which tests showed gave 28% more lift than the old style with the skis held parallel to each other.

Take a look at where Canada’s Ski Jumping athletes call home


Individual Large Hill and Individual Normal Hill - Men

Both men’s individual events consist of a qualification round and a final. The top 10 jumpers in the World Cup standings are automatically advanced to the final where they are joined by the top 40 from qualification. The final consists of two jumps, but only the top 30 after the first jump advance to the second jump. The highest combined score from the two final jumps wins.

Individual Normal Hill - Women

With only 30 jumpers qualified for the Games, there is only a final consisting of two jumps. The highest combined score from the two jumps wins.

Team Large Hill - Men

Each team consists of four jumpers whose scores are added together to determine the team score. The top eight teams after the first jump advance to compete in the second jump. The highest combined score from all eight jumps wins.

Olympic Club

Venue GuideSee All

Venue Guide: Beach Volleyball Centre

Upcoming GamesSee All

2015 Toronto

2015 Toronto

Toronto was awarded the 2015 Pan American Games on November 6, 2009, defeating bids from Lima, Peru and Bogota, Colombia….

Top Team Canada Fans

Mark Andrew

Current Level


  • Total: 457 points
  • Earned this week: 457 points
  • Next Level: Captain
  • Needed: 293 points

Georgia Sapounas

Current Level


  • Total: 439 points
  • Earned this week: 439 points
  • Next Level: Captain
  • Needed: 311 points

Beth MacDonnell

Current Level


  • Total: 429 points
  • Earned this week: 429 points
  • Next Level: Captain
  • Needed: 321 points

Jeremy Linskill

Current Level


  • Total: 345 points
  • Earned this week: 345 points
  • Next Level: Veteran
  • Needed: 55 points

Colin Berg

Current Level


  • Total: 240 points
  • Earned this week: 240 points
  • Next Level: Veteran
  • Needed: 160 points

Mark Koskie

Current Level


  • Total: 235 points
  • Earned this week: 235 points
  • Next Level: Veteran
  • Needed: 165 points

Ty Greene

Current Level


  • Total: 204 points
  • Earned this week: 204 points
  • Next Level: Veteran
  • Needed: 196 points

joel cunha

Current Level


  • Total: 160 points
  • Earned this week: 160 points
  • Next Level: Senior
  • Needed: 40 points

Website by | Programmed by Trew Knowledge | Powered by VIP


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 880 other followers

Join the Canadian Olympic Club

Join the Canadian Olympic Club, an all-access community uniting and rewarding Team Canada fans – it’s free.

Gain points, rewards and get email updates from your Canadian Olympic Team.