Men’s hockey team nominated for the Beijing 2022 Olympic Winter Games

NOTE: Hockey Canada will be holding a Zoom conference call at 1:15 pm. Details below.

CALGARY (January 25, 2022) – Hockey Canada, in partnership with the Canadian Olympic Committee (COC), has announced the 25-player roster that has been nominated to represent Team Canada in men’s hockey at the 2022 Olympic Winter Games, Feb. 4-20 in Beijing, China.

Team Canada’s roster includes three goaltenders, eight defencemen and 14 forwards:


Devon Levi (Dollard-des-Ormeaux, Que./Northeastern University, HE)
Edward Pasquale (Toronto, Ont./Lokomotiv Yaroslavl, KHL)
Matt Tomkins (Sherwood Park, Alta./Frölunda HC, SHL)


Mark Barberio (Montréal, Que./Ak Bars Kazan, KHL)
Jason Demers (Dorval, Que./Ak Bars Kazan, KHL)
Brandon Gormley (Murray River, P.E.I./Lokomotiv Yaroslavl, KHL)
Alex Grant (Antigonish, N.S./Jokerit Helsinki, KHL)
Maxim Noreau (Montréal, Que./ZSC Lions, NL)
Owen Power (Mississauga, Ont./University of Michigan, Big Ten)
Mat Robinson (Calgary, Alta. /SKA St. Petersburg, KHL)
Tyler Wotherspoon (Burnaby, B.C./Utica, AHL)


Daniel Carr (Leduc, Alta./HC Lugano, NL)
Adam Cracknell (Prince Albert, Sask./Bakersfield, AHL)
David Desharnais (Laurier-Station, Que./HC Fribourg-Gottéron, NL)
Landon Ferraro (Vancouver, B.C./Kölner Haie, DEL)
Josh Ho-Sang (Thornhill, Ont./Toronto, AHL)
Corban Knight (Oliver, B.C./Avangard Omsk, KHL)
Jack McBain (Toronto, Ont./Boston College, HE)
Mason McTavish (Carp, Ont./Hamilton, OHL)
Eric O’Dell (Ottawa, Ont./Dynamo Moscow, KHL)
Eric Staal (Thunder Bay, Ont./Iowa, AHL)
Ben Street (Coquitlam, B.C./EHC Red Bull München, DEL)
Adam Tambellini (Edmonton, Alta./Rögle BK, SHL)
Jordan Weal (North Vancouver, B.C./Ak Bars Kazan, KHL)
Daniel Winnik (Toronto, Ont./Genève-Servette HC, NL)

“We are proud to unveil the 25 players that have been nominated to represent Team Canada in Beijing. We know these athletes will represent our country with a tremendous amount of pride as they compete for an Olympic gold medal,” said Tom Renney, Chief Executive Officer of Hockey Canada. “Hockey Canada wishes to extend its congratulations to all the players and their families on their nomination to the Canadian Olympic Team. We know Canadians across the country and around the world will join us in cheering on the team at Beijing 2022.”

The 25 athletes were selected by General Manager Shane Doan, Assistant General Manager and Senior Vice-President of Hockey Operations Scott Salmond and Director of Player Personnel Blair Mackasey. Head Coach Claude Julien and Assistant Coaches Nolan Baumgartner, Jeremy Colliton and Tyler Dietrich, as well as Renney and Scott Smith, president and chief operating officer of Hockey Canada, also provided input.

“The management group and coaching staff have worked diligently to evaluate and select players that we believe will give us the best chance to win a gold medal and we are thrilled to announce the 25 players that will wear the maple leaf in Beijing,” said Doan. “It truly is a special honour to be able to represent your country at the Olympics. We know this group of athletes and staff will embrace the opportunity and make all Canadians proud.”

Canada’s Men’s Olympic Team features three players (Noreau, O’Dell, Robinson) who won a bronze medal at the PyeongChang 2018 Olympic Winter Games and one player (Staal) who won a gold medal on Canadian ice at Vancouver 2010.

“I have so many fond memories of competing at the 2010 Olympics in Vancouver and winning a gold medal on home ice, and I am honoured to once again be nominated for the 2022 Games in Beijing,” said Staal. “The Olympics are the pinnacle of sport, and I know our entire team is grateful for the opportunity to compete for a gold medal in Beijing and be a part of Team Canada.”

The team will gather in Davos, Switzerland, for an eight-day training camp from January 25 to February 1, and will practice and play a pre-tournament game against the Swiss in Zug, Switzerland on February 1 before travelling to Beijing. Team Canada will also play one pre-tournament game against the United States on February 7 at the National Indoor Stadium in Beijing.

Six players have also been nominated as reserves for the 2022 Olympic Winter Games – goaltender Justin Pogge (Penticton, B.C./Kölner Haie, DEL); defencemen Morgan Ellis (Ellerslie, P.E.I./Eisbären Berlin, DEL) and John Gilmour (Montréal/CSKA Moscow, KHL); and forwards Chris DiDomenico (Woodbridge, Ont./HC Fribourg-Gottéron), Kent Johnson (Port Moody, B.C./University of Michigan, Big Ten) and Max Véronneau (Ottawa/Leksands IF, SHL).

In Beijing, the men’s hockey tournament will take place February 9 to 20 at the National Indoor Stadium and Wukesong Sports Centre. Team Canada will aim for its 10th men’s hockey Olympic gold medal and first since Sochi 2014 when it opens preliminary round action against Germany on February 10.

“I am so proud to welcome the final team of athletes to Team Canada,” said Catriona Le May Doan, Team Canada’s Beijing 2022 Chef de Mission. “The men’s Olympic hockey team has always drawn a huge following from around the country and this year in Beijing it will be no different. These Team Canada athletes have stepped up and they will wear the maple leaf with pride. We look forward to cheering them on as they take on the world.”

Prior to being named to Team Canada, all nominations are subject to approval by the Canadian Olympic Committee’s Team Selection Committee following its receipt of nominations by all National Sport Organizations.

The men’s hockey team is the final sport and discipline to be nominated. The Canadian Olympic Committee will make a full team announcement at the end of the week.


Shane Doan, general manager 
Claude Julien, head coach
Eric Staal
Devon Levi

Tuesday, Jan. 25, 2022
1:15 p.m. ET/10:15 a.m. PT (approximate)

Zoom (Online)
Passcode: 007085



Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications, Hockey Canada
Team Canada’s Beijing 2022 Men’s Hockey Media Attache
C: 905-906-5327

Josh Su, 
Program Manager, Public Relations, Canadian Olympic Committee
Team Canada’s Beijing 2022 Press Operations Lead
C: 647-464-4060

Follow us on Twitter